In order to control the process and qualify the projects of the IBA towns and cities, from 2004 to 2009, an evaluation took place annually in each IBA town during which the muni- cipalities had the opportunity of presenting the progress made on their IBA projects, including expressing the dif fi cul- ties encountered in its development and implementation.

The aim was to reflect whether the path taken corresponded to the ideas in the original application or whether any changes had taken place. At the same time, the work undertaken by the municipalities up to that point was scrutinized in joint discussions. Based on these discussions, to which the two external moderators of the evaluation contributed a great deal, the steering committee made recom mendations for future work based on joint agreements for the following year. The panel of evaluators acted as advisers. At the end of each eval uation, the steering committee decided whether the IBA towns and cities would continue to participate and on their fields of activity for the following year.


Omar Akbar, Director of the Bauhaus Dessau Foundation and managing director of the IBA-Büro GbR (2002–08)
Christian Antz, Ministry of Economics and Labour of the State of Saxony-Anhalt
Sonja Beeck, IBA-Büro GbR
Norbert Eichler, Ministry of Finance of the State of Saxony-Anhalt
Kerstin Faber, IBA-Büro GbR
Valentin Gramlich, State secretary, Ministry of Education and the Arts of the State of Saxony-Anhalt
Günter Graviat, IBA-Büro GbR
Petra Hahne, German Tenant’s As- sociation State Association Saxony-Anhalt e. V.
Hans-Joachim Hennings, Ministry of Health and Social Affairs of the State of Saxony-Anhalt 
Thomas Holzmann, Federal Environmental Agency
Hartmut Kiesel, State Association Haus & Grund Saxony-Anhalt e. V.
Frank Philipp, Society of Housing Associa- tions Saxony-Anhalt e. V.
Heike Roos, Federation of German Landscape Architects
Elfrun Christiane Schmidt, Housing Industry Associa- tion Saxony-Anhalt e. V.
André Schröder, State Secretary, Ministry of Regional Development and Transport of the State of Saxony-Anhalt
Rüdiger Schulz, Managing Director of the Saxony- Anhalt State Development Company SALEG, managing director of the IBA-Büro GbR
Regina Sonnabend, IBA-Büro GbR
Martin Stein, IBA-Büro GbR
Friedrich Stübner, Ministry of Agriculture and the Environment of the State of Saxony-Anhalt
Thomas Wolf, German Federation of Municipal Authorities Saxony-Anhalt
Hartmut Vieth, Ministry of Regional Devel- opment and Transport of the State of Saxony-Anhalt
Ulrike Wendland, State Office for Monument Protection and Archaeology of the State of Saxony-Anhalt 
Jens Zillmann, Norddeutsche Landesbank Girozentrale
Bettina Zörner, nvestment Bank of Saxony- Anhalt – An institution of the Norddeutsche Landesbank

Angela Mensing-de Jong, Dresden University of Applied Sciences
Ingo Andreas Wolf, Leipzig Universitiy of Applied Sciences

Marco Mehlin
Stephanie Otto

Anja Glöckner
Cornelia Hummel