Steering Committee

The steering committee, chaired by Saxony-Anhalt’s Min ister of Regional Development and Transport, Karl-Heinz Daehre, made the decisions on the acceptance of the IBA towns and cities and their relevant themes or projects, in so far as they were already known. The steering committee also made decisions about the further development and man- agement of the IBA Urban Redevelopment 2010. Repre sen- tatives of the steering committee also became important players in the annual evaluation of the projects in the IBA towns and cities. This committee met twice a year and was comprised of representatives of the state ministries, asso- ciations, as well as independent consultants.

Members of the Steering Committee

Dr. Karl-Heinz Daehre, Minister of Regional Development and Transport of the State of Saxony-Anhalt  

Vice Chair:
Prof. Dr. Brigitta Wolff, Minister of Culture of the State of Saxony-Anhalt

Further Members:
Dr. Hermann Onko Aeikens, Minister of Agriculture and the Environment of the State of Saxony-Anhalt
Omar Akbar, Director of the Bauhaus Dessau Foundation and Managing Director the IBA- Büro GbR (2002-08)
Norbert Bischoff, Minister of Health and Social Affairs of the State of Saxony-Anhalt
Michael Bräuer, Chairman of the panel of experts Urban Monument Protection
Jens Bullerjahn, Minister of Finance of the State of Saxony-Anhalt
Thomas Felke, Member of the State Parliament, Chairman of the Committee for Regional Development and Transport in the State Parliament of Saxony-Anhalt 
Jochen Flasbarth, President of the Federal Environmental Agency 
Dr. Reiner Haseloff, Minister of Economics and Labour of the State of Saxony-Anhalt
Hinrich Holm, Member of the Executive Board of the Norddeutsche Landesbank
Jürgen Köhne, stellvertretender Vorsitzender des Landesverbandes Freier Immobilien- und Wohnungsunternehmen Sachsen/Sachsen-Anhalt/Thüringen
Jürgen LeindeckerDeputy managing director of the Association of Towns and Municipalities Saxony- Anhalt e. V.
Manfred Maas, Spokesman for the Executive Board of the Investment Bank of Saxony-Anhalt – An institution of the Norddeutsche Landesbank
Ronald Meißner, Director of the Society of Housing Associations Saxony-Anhalt e. V. 
Dr. Harald Meller, Director of the State Agency of Monument Protection and Archaeology of the State of Saxony-Anhalt
Dr. Holger Neumann, State Chairman of Haus & Grund Saxony-Anhalt e. V.
Prof. Philipp Oswalt, Director of the Bauhaus Dessau Foundation and Managing Director of the IBA-Büro GbR (from 2009)
Jost Riecke, Director of the Housing Industry Society Saxony- Anhalt e. V.
Ellen Schultz, State chair of the German Tenant’s Association Saxony-Anhalt e. V.
Rüdiger Schulz, Managing director of the Saxony-Anhalt State Development Company SALEG, managing director IBA-Büro GbR
Prof. Christiane Thalgott, President of the German Academy for Urban and Environmental Planning (until October 2009)

Permanent Guests:
Prof. Ralf Niebergall, President of the Chamber of Architects Saxony-Anhalt
Andrea Gebhardt, President of the Federation of German Landscape Architects
Harald Rupprecht, Board member of the Chamber of Engineers Saxony-Anhalt
Bettina Quäschning, Managing director of Landesmarketing Sachsen- Anhalt GmbH